Flexible meal plans required

Now, I can only speak for homes that have corporate or charter pilots living in them.  Hey – that’s my house!!  Anyway, schedules and pilot careers do not exist well together, therefore a meal plan needs to be flexible to work in our home.  Now, before I go any further, I want to make the point that I knew what I was getting myself into when I married Chief, and his career.  We dated long distance (think across a national border and about 5 state borders) for two years – around a pilot career.  Those were the days …

Now the days include two little ones who would like to be fed decent meals and preferably three times a day.  Which this cooking Momma is very happy to oblige.  However, the inconsistency of our life makes it a little difficult to meal plan.  I used to plan my meals quite well, and then I got pregnant with Engineer and the inevitable 6+ months of all-day-when-will-it-ever-end sickness arrived.  Meal plans?  Goodness, I was lucky to look at food!!  We had a LOT of M&M Meat stuff for those months.  Then this past January Chief was laid off from his job, and for the first time in a long while, my life was a little more consistent, however, there was the annoying factor of a very lean grocery budget.  So meal planning took on another level.  Since August, Chief has been back to full-time employment and I have had to change my approach to meals again.  I have tried the “fly by the seat of my pants” option since then, and it is not working.  So starting this week I am back to trying meal planning.  Things will more than likely get changed if Chief is away on a pop-up trip (which means we usually have less than 12 hours notice of his departure).  This time I am going to come up with 7 lunch ideas and 7 supper ideas, but not assign a day to them, therefore I can change the order easily.  So here goes …

Breakfast:

  • Muffins x 2 (Some from the freezer and a new batch of Banana Bran)
  • Pancakes with blueberries
  • Hot cereal x 2
  • Homemade waffles with Strawberry Sauce
  • Blueberry Breakfast Bars

Lunches

  • Egg salad sandwiches on Honey Oatmeal Bread (new recipe I am trying with my KitchenAid – my bread machine quit and I am going to try using my stand mixer to do the work that my hands can’t)
  • Martha’s Tomato Soup with grilled cheese sandwiches
  • Tuna Corn Chowder with biscuits
  • Eggs Benedict Mrs. Pilot style (we’ll see how this goes – I want to try making my own English Muffins.  If they don’t get made, I’ll have to try another option)
  • Supper Leftovers x 3

Supper

  • Homemade pizza
  • Pizza Pockets (I love to have freezer meals, and I make a big batch of these, freeze what we don’t eat and they are great lunch options)
  • Roast Beef with cabbage, squash and carrots (New recipe I’m trying from Nov 2010 issue of Everyday Food)
  • Smoked turkey and kale hand pies with cheddar crust (Another new recipe from Nov 2010 Everyday Food – it is supposed to be chicken, but I have smoked turkey cooked, so I am going to use that)
  • Cabbage Roll casserole (from the freezer)
  • Chili Cornmeal Haddock (another new recipe from Company’s Coming “Catch of the Day”)
  • Salmon burgers with home fries

If you spend much time around here, you will learn quickly that I love to try new recipes.  Thankfully my family is willing to try new things.  If there are any recipes that you are interested in, let me know and I’ll post them.

Have a great week filled with yummy food!

Leave a Reply

