I actually DID blog previously …

… I just honestly had forgotten about it.  I started it the year that Chief and I were married (2005 if you’re nosy like me).  And then life started getting in the way of blogging.  Specifically, we moved back to where I grew up and we had the joys of dial-up internet for two years.  Wow, those were long years 🙂 

The view from our front windows certainly helped with the angst of dial-up though. So lovely!

Anyway, an old friend was able to reconnect with me through that blog today, and I had fun going through my old entries.  I have saved them and will share a few of them with you over the next couple of weeks.  I always enjoying going back in time to see what I thought at a certain point.  This next post was from December 11, 2005.  Let’s see how much of it has happened or changed in the last (almost) 5 years …

So, here we go … delving into my mind could be scary – fasten your seatbelts …
Seven things I hope to do before I die:

Cherub Baby #1 and #2

1. Make beautiful, cherub-faced babies with Chief (you know – the kind you want to just stare at cause they are so cute!!)  Done, twice with perfect results!!
2. Make Chief and I a quilt – many are in the works, just no completion in sight!  Sadly, this is still on my to-do list.
3. Get published in a scrapbooking publication While I still love to scrapbook, this is not on my radar anymore.  I scrapbook how I like, and I’m not sure that it’s the latest trends, so this wish is probably off the list now.
4. Renew some friendships that have sort of fallen by the wayside, so to speak, in the last few years, due to the craziness in my life Oh Facebook, how I love and hate thee at the same time.  I love the fact that I have reconnected with a lot of old friends through Facebook.  And I hate the fact that I spend way too much time on there at times 🙂
5. Own a house (that comes with a white picket fence and a puppy – and an awesome “creating” room that is all mine!!) Well, let’s see.  Chief is violently allergic to dogs, so that one is off the list.  We currently rent as apparently we are nomads, having moved 5 times in 5 years.  Maybe someday.  And “creating” room that is all mine?  Well, I imagine that I have my own room, until I am creating and some errant “sports” ball hits me in the side of the head and then I am swiftly brought back to the reality that my crafting space is also known as the base operations for our company and the boys’ play room.  It can get a little wild down here sometimes!!
6. Travel to Europe – specifically Scotland, England and Ireland Still no, but Chief has been to England and Ireland since I wrote this.  Does that count??
7. Ensure that my parents are well looked after once they retire – edit #5 – must have granny-addition for Mom and Daddy to live in  We have a lovely spare room, and Dad’s not retired yet, so I still have some time to complete this one.  First I have to convince them that we are not going to be nomads anymore and live in one spot, so that they can move near us.  My boys would honestly think that they had died and gone to heaven to have “Mom and Dad” so handy.  I would too.

Seven things I cannot do:

I can hear him making the jet noise, can you??

1. Make weird noises like my husband (and all men, for that matter) – I have tried and tried and have been coached on how to make such noises as: car brakes squealing, etc – with no success  Seriously, Captain never talked a lot until he was about 2.5.  However, from the age of about 1.5 he could make the distinct sounds of a jet, a prop plane and a helicopter.  I am 27 years his senior and my jet, prop plane and helicopter all sound like sick animals.  I just don’t have the noise making gene 🙂
2. Understand why the lovely people on the island where I live like to honk their horns at people – viciously honk their horns – over things that cannot be helped  Even though I no longer live on Long Island, I still don’t get why they honk their horns so much.  Slow down and live a little longer, New Yorkers!!
3. Stand on my head – I fall over very hard & very easily – I even tried this as recently as this past Thanksgiving – where I tried to teach my friend’s 5 yr old son to do this exact stunt – not successful on my part  I did actually demonstrate this wonderful skill for Captain about two weeks ago.  I managed to stay upright, while upside down for about 2.5 seconds.  An improvement, don’t you think??
4. Get out of bed in the mornings – I love to lay in my comfy, warm bed dreaming about what great and magnificent things I will do that day Motherhood brought a screaming halt to this.  That’s all I have to say about that.
5. Refrain from spending large amounts of my husband’s money on scrapbooking supplies, quilting supplies, gifts for my loved ones (next year’s christmas gifts), shoes, books, and many other lovely things that I feel I need, he however does not see it the same (P.S. I did buy him a wonderful assortment of “just what he asked for” Christmas gifts this year – sweet of me to use the money he earned, eh? Awww … the joys of being a stay-at-home wife!)  Well, considering that Chief decided to take a two-year “retirement” from flying (and a wonderful salary) to follow his dream of starting his own company, that promptly helped me stop spending large amounts of his money!!
6. Play Trivial Pursuit. I hate that game. I do not know 1/10th of the answers and I refuse to play a game that I can’t win. I’m working on that bad attitude, by the way!  I did actually purchase a copy of Trivial Pursuit at the thrift store, but I still have to find someone to play it with me.  Any takers??
7. Ice skate. Sad confession for a good Canadian girl – but I can’t. I too scared of falling on my butt and hurting said butt. Plus, scared of hurting pride.  Well last night was our Church’s annual Fall Party, which includes skating at a local rink.  Captain reminded me all week that Daddy was going to hold his hand and take him skating, but not Momma, “cause Momma not good at kating, right Momma?”  Yes, darling, thank you for that reminder. 

Chief dearly loves to have his picture taken. Isn’t it obvious??

Seven things that attract me to my husband:

(This list is really long, but since I don’t want to bore you, I will restrain myself to only 7 reasons)  They are all still true, so I’ll make a general comment.  He is still a wonderful husband, five years and two babies later.  Even if he did forget my birthday on Sunday.  It’s all good, I’m mostly over it.
1. His incredibly kind and loving nature. Every little girl wants to grow up and marry a man like her Daddy – well, I’ve been doubly blessed. I have a phenomenal Daddy with a wonderful spirit and kind nature – and now I have a husband with the same great qualities.
2. His great sense of humor – although he’s a bit of a stinker at times
3. His strong work ethic. He is a great provider.
4. The fact that he shares the household responsibilities with me – he takes out the trash and washes the dishes – the two things I hate to do. How perfect is that??  Edit – he still is rather good at taking out the trash, but somewhere along the line he managed to drop the washing of dishes off of his chore list.  But I like washing dishes now (which is good because there are a lot of them created in this house) which works out well.  Most of the time.
5. His love and dedication to my parents. Since my world has revolved around them for my entire life, it’s very special to finally find a man who recognizes their great worth and takes time out of his life to ensure that they realize how much he loves and cares for them.  Still very, very true.  And it makes me so incredibly happy that my parents and Chief love each other so much and that it is so mutual. 
6. His indulgent nature when it comes to me (See #5 in 7 things I cannot do)
7. How protective he is of me and our relationship
8. His giggle. lol – he’s gonna get me for that one – he’s a big “man’s man” kind of guy – but he has the most adorable giggle when I do/say/think silly things.
*** Ooops – I was only supposed to have 7 – well, I’m not deleting one thing, so you’ll just have to live with it!! =)

Seven books or book series I love:
1. To Kill a Mockingbird
2. Anne of Green Gables series
3. Anything to do with England monarchy (like the Boleyn girls, Queen Elizabeth/Queen Mary)
4. Guideposts magazine (okay, I’m stretching the rules here …)
5. Any scrapbooking, quilting publication (well, most of them)
6. Bridget Jones’ Diary (1&2) now replaced by anything by Karen Kingsbury. 
7. anything by Francine Rivers

Seven movies I could watch over and over again:
1. Sweet Home Alabama
2. Anne of Green Gables 
3. National Geographic documentary on whales (strange choice – even stranger how I came to like it. My parents bought it for me on their honeymoon – sort of a bribe present cause my nose was a little out of joint now that I had to share my mom – and it was the first video that I ever owned and basically the only one I was allowed to watch. So I watched it – over and over and over …)
4. Almost all of Julia Roberts’ movies
5. My many SATC DVDs My tastes have changed … now it’s delightful to curl up with a warm, cuddly Captain and watch Veggie Tales together.  Now, that’s real entertainment!!
6. My even larger collection of Friends DVDs
7. Canadian RCMP musical ride videos – I have 2, but my favorite is the one where my uncle is wearing a camera on his hat while the horses stampede – very, very cool perspective of it!!!

So there you have it … a peek into the me a few years ago.  Do any of you write things like this down and then go back and reread them a few years later?  If not, you should start, it’s fun to see the “earlier” version of yourself.

6 thoughts on “I actually DID blog previously …

  1. ok…so two things… First, I will play trivial pursuit with you anytime you want. Seth hates it, I love it. It’ll be a hilarious night. Second, I would love to see your videos of the musical ride!!! I think Seth would too. 🙂 We should have a game/video night.

    • lol – it’s a Trivial Pursuit date night!! I will need to collect my videos when I go back to Mom & Dad’s … for some reason I left them there. But I will definitely bring them home at Christmas. They are really neat! And we totally should have at least a game night before Christmas and then we could have a video night after Christmas … spread out the fun!! 🙂

  2. I remember reading this on your other blog. I love the additions to bring us up to date.

    I love Francine Rivers’ books, also. Have you ever read anything by Michael Phillips??

    • Yes, I like Michael Phillips books too. The “Secret of the Rose” series is probably my favorite (I’m quite sure that that was Michael Phillips and Judith Pella. If not, I still like the series!! )

  3. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and “catching” up with you! Would love to meet your sweet sounding family. So thankful you’re blessed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

